Daniel Hynes

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Archives
    Archives Contains a list of blog posts that were created previously.

Arrested for DWI? You should know this

Posted by on in Uncategorized
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2537
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print

Been Arrested For a DWI? Here’s What You Need to Know

Each day, it happens on New Hampshire’s roadways. One moment, you are cruising along the road. The next minute, a police officer is asking you to blow into a foreign device, walk in a straight line, and stand on one leg. The next thing you know, you have been charged with a DWI, and you are being placed in handcuffs and loaded into the backseat of a squad car. How did this happen?

In reality, a DWI (driving while intoxicated) is the most common form of criminal charges confronted by New Hampshire’s citizens. The process of contending with an NH DWI is a serious one. It is full of confusion, uncertainty, and stress.

Unfortunately, for NH motorists who are stopped by police officers and arrested for DWI, the odds are stacked against them. In these scenarios, it seems as though the prosecuting attorneys and police officers hold all of the power. When a person feels so helpless, they often resign themselves to simply living with the negative consequences.

Don’t Forget: Options Are Available

Regardless of what the specific circumstance might be, assistance is available to those who want to fight their DWI charges or minimize the consequences associated with a DWI conviction.

What you must absolutely be aware of is that New Hampshire law enforcement agencies take driving while intoxicated charges quite seriously. Officials are not only zealous in their efforts to capture drunk drivers, but the state also inflicts harsh penalties on those convicted of this offense.

Every person understands the vital importance of keeping New Hampshire’s roads safe, but it is equally imperative to ensure that the legal rights of NH motorists are not infringed upon.

In general, there are three categories of DWI related charges in New Hampshire:

§  Boating While Intoxicated (BWI)

§  Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUI)

§  Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

DWI Arrest = Jail Time?

Depending upon the particular circumstances and the severity of the crime, jail time could range from 10-180 days. Other NH DWI lawyers are often more focused on reducing possible felony charge to a misdemeanor one, and they do not give appropriate thought to the effects of a lengthy jail sentence. However, at our firm, we will fight each of your criminal charges to the best of our ability, as well as your punishment. We have assisted hundreds of New Hampshire residents throughout the state in having charges permanently removed from their record.

Lesser Known New Hampshire DWI Penalties

Should you be concerned with lesser charges? Even if your DWI conviction does not include a jail sentence, you could be sentenced to some type of remedial program or have your driver’s license suspended.

Remedial programs, in particular, are expensive and time consuming. Pursuant to New Hampshire state law, individuals sentenced to a remedial program must pay all monetary costs (which can reach as high as $5,000.00) and serve a jail sentence of as much as 28 days. It is not uncommon to hear of these types of programs costing defendants their jobs and livelihoods, which makes it difficult for them to provide for their families.

Along with the penalty of a remedial program, you could also have your driver’s license suspended. This makes it especially difficult in going to and from work and near impossible to make enough money to survive on. A defendant’s driver’s license could be suspended for a minimum of 9 months to in excess of 5 years, depending upon their particular conviction.

For individuals who are over the age of 21 years, the suspension duration list is as follows:

§  Class B Misdemeanor: 9 months – 2 years

§  Class A Misdemeanor: 18 months – 2 years

§  Class B Misdemeanor: 3+ years

§  Class B Misdemeanor: 5+ years


Bear in mind that these penalties will be increased if additional laws were broken during the DWI, or if the individual holds a CDL license. It requires the expertise of an experienced and professional NH DWI attorney to successfully defend an individual against these types of “aggravating circumstances.”


The Issue of Ignition Interlock Devices


Are you aware of what an ignition interlock device is? Most criminal defense lawyers are unaware of the consequences a person suffers when required to use one of these. Lawyer Dan Hynes dedicates a significant portion of his time to understanding DWI defense, and he understands the impact this type of device can have. An IID requires a convicted motorist to blow into an installed breathalyzer before the automobile will start.


You require the assistance of an experienced DWI defense attorney, one who is familiar with all the ins and outs of New Hampshire law. If you want to see a positive outcome in your DWI case, contact the law offices of Dan Hynes today.


Rate this blog entry:


  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, 06 July 2022